Stellfox Award-winner Lorrie Moore speaks with literature and writing students in Memorial Hall.

Stellfox Award-winner Lorrie Moore speaks with literature and writing students in Memorial Hall.

2015-16 - Edwidge Danticat

National Book Award-winning author and MacArthur fellow

MacArthur Fellow and Stellfox Award-winner Edwidge Danticat is the author of several books, includingBreath, Eyes, Memory, an Oprah Book Club selection; Krik? Krak!, a National Book Award finalist; and Brother, I’m Dying, a 2007 finalist for the National Book Award and 2008 winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for autobiography. Her most recent books include Mama’s Nightingale, a picture book, and Untwine, a young-adult novel. 

2014-2015 - Lorrie Moore

Short-story author, essayist and recipient of the Irish Times International Prize for Literature

Known for humorous, poignant and unsparing short stories, Lorrie Moore is the recipient of the Irish Times International Prize for Literature, a Lannan Foundation fellowship, the PEN/Malamud Award and the Rea Award. Moore's fiction and nonfiction have appeared in The New Yorker, Harperʼs, The New York Review of Books, The New York Times, The Paris Review, The Yale Review and Best American Short Stories. Her most recent novel was a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner and the Orange Prize.

Moore is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and has taught at Cornell University, the University of Michigan, New York University, Princeton University and Baruch College and, for 29 years, at the University of Wisconsin. She is currently Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor at Vanderbilt University. She grew up in upstate New York and received her B.A. from St. Lawrence in 1978.

2014 - Paul Muldoon

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet

Muldoon's residency was punctuated by a lecture and award ceremony, a theatrical production and two major musical performances. Each related to Muldoon's life and work and/or to that of the poet's longtime friend and mentor, Seamus Heaney, who was named the 2013-14 Stellfox recipient before his sudden death last fall. 

2012 - David Henry Hwang

Tony Award-winning playwright

2011 - Richard Russo

Pulitzer Prize-winning author (April)

2011 - Margaret Atwood

Booker Prize winning author (November)

2009 - Maxine Kumin

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet

2008 - Mario Vargas Llosa

Novelist, playwright, essayist, journalist, literary critic and 2010 recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature.

2007 - Edward Albee

Three-time Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright

2006 - Rita Dove

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet

2005 - Ian McEwan

Booker Award-winning British novelist