Vegetarian Diets

Vegetarian diets generally exclude meats, fish, and fowl but may include animal products such as dairy and eggs.  There are many variations but the following are some of the most prevalent practices:

Lacto-ovo vegetarians avoid red and white meat, fish, and fowl but eat eggs and milk products.  This is the most common form of vegetarianism.

Lacto-vegetarians avoid red and white meat, fish, fowl, and eggs but eat dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarians avoid red and white meat, fish, fowl, and dairy but eat eggs.

Sattvic diet or Yogic diet is a plant-based diet that may include dairy and honey but excludes eggs and anything from the onion or leek family, red lentils, durian fruit, mushrooms, blue cheeses, fermented foods or sauces, alcoholic drinks, and often also excludes coffee, black or green tea, chocolate, nutmeg or any other type of stimulant such as excess sharp spices.

Buddhist vegetarianism – different Buddhist traditions have differing teachings on diet, which may also vary for ordained monks and nuns as compared to others.  Many interpret the precept 'not to kill' to require abstinence from meat, but not all. In Taiwan, su vegetarianism excludes not only all animal products but also vegetables in the allium family (which have the characteristic aroma of onion and garlic): onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, chives, or shallots.

Jain vegetarianism includes dairy but excludes eggs and honey, as well as root vegetables.