Skip To Content Skip To Menu Skip To Footer

Dickinson Awards

awards graphic

Dickinson College’s awards programs and public forums recognize some of the greatest intellectuals, scientists, artists, educators, public servants and business leaders of our time and enrich the campus community. Each year, the honorees come to campus and share their knowledge and insights with the Dickinson and surrounding communities through public addresses, discussions and/or performances. Many also visit classrooms, participate in seminars and meet with students and faculty members.

A tradition of scientific inquiry

The Joseph Priestley Award honors a distinguished scientist whose work has contributed to the welfare of humanity.

Business, government and the liberal arts

The Benjamin Rush Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a member of the business or government community.

Inspiring a love of literature

The Harold and Ethel L. Stellfox Visiting Scholars and Writers Program continues Jean Louise Stellfox ’60's mission of inspiring students through literature.

Celebrating the arts

The Dickinson College Arts Award honors an outstanding contribution to the creative or performing arts by an individual or group. 

Student-led symposia

The Public Affairs Committee (PAC), established in 1963, is a student-run organization focused on attracting speakers and holding programs based on an annual theme. The Poitras-Gleim Lecture, endowed by a gift from Ted and Kay Gleim Poitras in 1990, is held annually in conjunction with PAC and provides a forum to explore and promote cross-disciplinary thought and communication.