Benjamin Rush Award

Benjamin Rush (1745-1813), founder of Dickinson College

Benjamin Rush (1745-1813).

The first Benjamin Rush Award was presented in 1985 to the board chairman and chief executive officer of CBS. Recipients have included three other corporate executives; the minister of trade, industry and energy of the Republic of Korea; the director of the White House Office of Management and Budget; the deputy secretary general of the United Nations; and the chairman of the Board of Mutual Life Insurance of America.

  • 2012: Charles W. Cole Jr., former president and CEO, First Maryland Bankcorp and The National Bank of Maryland.
  • 2010: Donald Graham, chairman of The Graham Group and founder of Graham Engineering.
  • 2009: William F. Greenlee, president and CEO of The Hamner Institutes for Health Sciences and chairman and CEO of the Health Research & Education Foundation.
  • 2008: Derek Hathaway.
  • 2007: Stephen Adler, editor-in-chief of BusinessWeek Magazine.
  • 2006: Roger W. Sant, co-founder and former chairman of AES Corporation.
  • 2005: Lawrence Bossidy, former CEO of Allied Signal Corporation.
  • 2004: Edward Gramlich, member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.
  • 2003: Arthur Levitt, former chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission.
  • 2002: William Flynn, board chairman of Mutual of America.
  • 2001: Louise Fr├ęchette, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General.
  • 2000: Curt Weldon, U.S. Congressman.
  • 1999: John Brademas, President Emeritus, New York University
  • 1997: Maurice Strong
  • 1995: Alice Rivlin, Director of the White House Office of Management and Budget
  • 1994: Chulsu Kim, former Deputy Secretary-General of the World Trade Organization
  • 1993: Janet Norwood, Sr. Fellow, The Urban Institute (Former U.S. Commissioner of Labor Statistics)
  • 1992: Mitsuya Goto, President, M. Goto Company
  • 1989: Louis W. Cabot
  • 1986: John T. Conner
  • 1985: Thomas H. Wyman, Board Chairman and CEO of CBS