Dickinson College Kicks off Remote Fall 2020 Semester

Dickinson Sign

Fall 2020 Kickoff Video

Dickinson students, families, faculty, staff and alumni gathered virtually for the Fall 2020 Kickoff on Sunday, Aug. 16. The 20-minute online event featured welcome remarks from President Margee Ensign, Student Senate President Phil Butler '21 (policy management), Vice President & Dean of Students George Stroud, Young Alumni Trustee Ian Genao '20, Provost & Dean of the College Neil Weissman and several other faculty and staff members.

In addition to welcoming new students and welcoming back current students, the event served as an opportunity to recognize members of the community for their efforts and service. A few of the awards presented include:

  • Senior and Junior Sophister (highest ranking students in those classes): Mohala Anne Kaliebe ’22 (English) and Jordan Elizabeth Cox '21 (chemistry)
  • George Shuman Jr. and Mary Louise D’Olier Shuman Prizes (for superior academic achievement and outstanding contributions to the community): Allan Farfan Canales '23 (English) and Trang Do '23 (quantitative economics, mathematics)
  • Howard Lane Rubendall Senior Scholarship (for distinguished leadership and service): Sagun Sharma '21 (educational studies, psychology).


Published August 17, 2020