Opportunities for Majors

History majors at Dickinson have numerous opportunities both to distinguish themselves academically, and to extend their learning beyond the traditional classroom.  

Academic Distinction
Students can achieve academic distinction by pursuing departmental honors, earning election to the Dickinson chapter of the history honor society Phi Alpha Theta, or winning one of the department's annual prizes for academic achievement.

Garrett Internship
History majors have the opportunity to earn a stipend while engaging in hands-on archival research by applying for the Garrett internship, which each year funds a student to work in the library archives for a semester.  Information about how to apply is sent via email announcement to all history majors when the application period opens.

History Majors Committee
History majors with an interest in service can apply for a seat on the History Majors Committee, which plays a vital role in the functioning of the department.  Invitations to apply are sent via email to all majors before the start of each academic year.