The National Honor Society in History, Phi Alpha Theta, was established at the University of Arkansas on March 17, 1921 by N. Andrew N. Cleven. Since its inauguration, Phi Alpha Theta has grown to more than seven hundred chapters in fifty states. It has the distinction of having more chapters than any other accredited honor society, holding one of the earliest memberships in the Association of College Honor Societies. The total number of initiates since its inception is more than 240,000. It is . . . "a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians."

ALPHA BETA ZETA CHAPTER HISTORY The Alpha Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Alpha Theta was chartered at Dickinson College on April 23, 1984. Fifteen students as well as four faculty members participated in the initial induction ceremony. Since then, several Dickinson students have presented research papers at the Society's regional and national meetings.

To be eligible for membership in Phi Alpha Theta, a history major must have completed at least four history classes, have a GPA of 3.6 in the history major, a 3.4 overall GPA, and rank in the top 35% of his/her class.  Students meeting eligibility criteria are invited to join in the spring of each year by the Phi Alpha Theta advisor.  Upon acceptance of the invitation, new members of the society will pay one-time dues of $55, which includes lifetime membership in the honor society and a one-year subscription to the Phi Alpha Theta quarterly journal, as well as a chapter honor cord to be presented to graduating Phi Alpha Theta members to wear at Dickinson Commencement. 

Current Dickinson students who are members of Phi Alpha Theta:  Justin Burkett '20, Amanda Donoghue '19, Hugh Downs '19, Ben Fleming '19, Tom Forte '20, Julien Herpers '19, Luc Traugott '19, Cooper Wingert '20

INITIATION CEREMONY The initiation ceremony is held each spring and is followed by the annual awards ceremony for all history majors where Phi Alpha Theta members are recognized.

Professor Chris Bilodeau
Telephone: (717) 245-1385