Institutional Awards

Pennsylvania Consortium for the Liberal Arts (PCLA) – Opportunity Grant.  $7,750.  (Christine Bombaro/LIS with colleagues from Gettysburg, Lafayette, and Swarthmore Colleges) “Implementing the New Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education at PCLA Libraries.” This project will provide the opportunity for librarians in the PCLA to discuss issues surrounding the newly-adopted Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and to develop plans of action to implement the Framework’s principles, both individually and in partnership with one another. This day‐long workshop will be held at Dickinson College during late spring 2016. It will be open to 75 participants from member institutions of the PCLA.

The Foundation for Pennsylvania Watersheds. $25,000. (Julie Vastine/ALLARM; collaborator Heather Bedi/Environmental Studies) “Taking the pulse of Pennsylvania’s watershed movement.” Through this grant ALLARM will be working with Heather Bedi (Environmental Studies) and Penn State University to assess the current status of community-based watershed organizations in the state of Pennsylvania. There are three project goals: 1) to develop an inventory of watershed organizations in Pennsylvania; 2) to write a comprehensive summary of the changes and developments in the watershed community from 2005 through 2015; and 3) to write a white paper on the status of Pennsylvania’s aquatic citizen science programs to inform the development of a Pennsylvania Water Monitoring Council. This grant will develop essential tools to understand the Pennsylvania watershed movement to inform current and future policy initiatives as well as identify gaps in the field to make community collaborations more effective. 

Donald B. and Dorothy L. Stabler Foundation. $530,000.  This grant supplements our existing Donald B. and Dorothy L. Stabler Scholarship Fund to provide additional tuition assistance to worthy students to support their pursuit of a Dickinson College undergraduate education.

National Science Foundation (NSF). $12,000. (Julie Vastine, ALLARM). “Learning to See, Seeing to Learn: A Sociotechnical System Supporting Taxonomic Identification Activities in Volunteer-Based Water Quality Biomonitoring” is an Innovations in Development proposal to build and study a cyber-enhanced visual learning environment to support observational practices and classification skills in a citizen science context. Our project focuses on the particular challenge of training volunteers to collect high-quality and reliable data—in this case, biotic data for water quality assessment projects. ALLARM is a partner in this larger project with the lead institution, Carnegie Mellon University.

Faculty Awards

UK National Health Service NIHR-HTA, $66,785. Suman Ambwani (Psychology). In collaboration with her colleagues at Kings College London, Professor Ambwani will conduct “A multicentre, investigator blind, randomised 6/12 parallel group study to examine the feasibility, acceptability and efficacy of supplementing inpatient care with guided self-management tools for patients with or without adjunct career guidance.”  The current study employs a recovery-based, collaborative approach to the self-management of eating disorders.

PSI CHI, the International Honor Society in Psychology, 2014-2015 Psi Chi Faculty Advisor Research Grant. $2,000. (Suman Ambwani, Psychology). “But why do we continue to fat talk? An experimental investigation of college women’s reactions to body disparaging conversations.”

Paul Sacher Stiftung – Research Grant. $13,860. (Amy Wlodarski, Music) “Postwar Humanism and the Music of George Rochberg.”

Rare Book School – William T. Buice III Scholarship. $1,395. (Chelsea Skalak, English) “The Medieval Manuscript in the Twenty-First Century”

Student Awards