Fulbright Program

Fulbright logo


The Fulbright Program offers highly competitive, merit-based grants for international educational exchanges for students, scholars, teachers, professionals, scientists and artists, founded by United States Senator J. William Fulbright in 1946. Under the Fulbright Program, competitively selected U.S. citizens may become eligible for scholarships to study, conduct research, or exercise their talents abroad and citizens of other countries may qualify to do the same in the United States. The Fulbright Program is one of the most prestigious awards programs worldwide, operating in over 155 countries. Forty-five Fulbright alumni have won Nobel Prizes; seventy-eight have won Pulitzer Prizes.

Past grant recipients from Italian: Delphine Dall'Agata (2018); Danielle Goonan (2008); Marissa Calfe (2008); Christina Brumbach (2008).

Dickinson is among the top-10 liberal-arts institutions producing Fulbright recipients. To date, 92 alumni and 56 faculty or staff have received at least one Fulbright Award. Read about some of the college's recent Fulbright recipients. 

For those interested in applying, see the Dickinson Fulbright site for more information and deadlines.