PSC Advisory Group

The PSC Advisory Group is an interdepartmental and multidisciplinary group of Dickinson faculty and staff. Some key functions the Group serves includes the following:

  • Advise the Director of the PSC of relevant campus issues and concerns pertaining to race, ethnicity, and nationality, and intersections.
  • Attend, support, and promote PSC programs and provide the Director with feedback on current programs and suggestions for future endeavors
  • Share events and initiatives focused on inclusion, education and/or social justice you seek to promote to the campus community. The focus of the sharing is to foster collaboration and minimize scheduling conflicts.
  • Locate opportunities for co-curricular partnerships

Each member agrees to serve on the group for two consecutive years with the option to renew membership upon request. The Group meets once a month during September, October, November, February, March and April on days and times that accommodate member schedules.  Members are selected by the Director of the Popel Shaw Center for Race & Ethnicity.



Vincent Stephens
Director, Popel Shaw Center
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2016-present



Elise Bartosik-Velez
(On Sabbatical for Fall 2019)
Professor, Spanish
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2018-present

Kirk Anderson

Kirk Anderson
Professor, Educational Studies
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2019-present

Sheela Jane Menon

Sheela Jane Menon(On Sabbatical 2020-21)
Assistant Professor, English
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2018-present

Jorden Hayes

Jorden Hayes
Professor, Earth Sciences
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2019-present


Amaury Leopoldo Sosa
Assistant Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2017-present


Toby Reiner
Associate Professor of Political Science
PSC Advisory Group Membership: 2019-present


Previous Advisory Group Members

  • Heather Bedi, Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies, 2016-2018
  • Jennifer Blyth, Professor, Music, 2016-2018
  • Peter Sak, Associate Professor, Earth Science, 2016-2018
  • Cotten Seiler, Associate Professor, American Studies, 2016-2018
  • Shawn Stein, Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese, 2016-2017
  • Chris Cox, 2018-2019
  • Adeline Soldin, 2016-2019
  • Maiko Arashiro, 2018-2019