Skip To Content Skip To Menu Skip To Footer

Honors Society Inductions

8 Russian majors and minors were inducted into the Dobro Slovo National Russian Honors Society on April 24, 2012.

Dobro Slovo was founded in 1963 and serves as a means for the recognition of academic excellence in the study of Slavic languages, literature, history, and culture. There are over 130 local chapters with a total membership of nearly 7,000 nationwide. Members receive national recognition for academic excellent and a pin and tassel to wear on their gowns on graduation day.

This year's inductees included:
Class of 2012: Jim Franklin, Laura Hechtlinger, Olivia Stevens, and Andrei Vernon
Class of 2013: Nealy Harnsberger, Florence Helbing, Caitlin Moriarty, and Melanie Strapko

During the ceremony, the Russian Department also recognized faculty members and students for their service and achievement during the 2011-2012 academic year. Graduating seniors who have studied abroad in Russia during their time at Dickinson were presented with Russian flag patches to sew on their graduation gowns.