The Joseph Priestley Award Recipients

- 2017-18: **Richard B. Alley,** for his work on using ice sheets and glaciers to recognize abrupt climate change and for his tireless efforts to educate the global citizenry of the potential risks.
- 2010-11: **Stephen Sparks**, for his work in the fields of igneous petrology and volcanology, particularly his contributions to improving our understanding of the physical and chemical dynamics of volcanic systems.
- 2003-04: **Orrin H. Pilkey,** for distinguished research in coastal geology and public service in policy formulation and education about America's coastal resources.
- 1997-98: Frank Press, for his contributions in geophysics and national science policy.
- 1990-91: Wallace S. Broecker, for distinguished contributions to the field of geochemistry.
- 1983-84: **Stephen Jay Gould,** for his contribution to the fields of paleontology, evolutionary biology and the history of science.
- 1978-79: J. Tuzo Wilson, for distinguished contributions in the development of plate tectonics.
- 1978-74: **Philip H. Abelson,** for geochemical studies.
- 1965-66: **Joel H. Hildebrand,** for research in the fields of solubility and the structure of liquids.
- 1961-62: **Maurice Ewing,** for distinguished contributions in the fields of oceanography, climatology and geothermal measurements.
- 1959-60: Willard Frank Libby, for distinguished contributions to the development of carbon dating.