At Dickinson we are fortunate to work with many community partners in on-going sustained relationships that benefit the community partner and also student volunteers.  In conjunction with the President's Office, a monthly gathering of college and community leaders gather. 

The community partners below have worked with students in the past and are eager to answer questions, share information, and work with volunteers.   Please contact them directly for more information.

Before choosing where to volunteer, check out "Volunteering. What to know before you go"  that comes with insight from our community partners.  

United Way of Carlisle and Cumberland County

145 S Hanover St Carlisle, PA 17013-3437 - (717) 243-4805
Lucy Zander, Executive Director; lucy@carlisleunitedway.org
717-243-4805 

HOUSING

Cumberland County Housing and Redevelopment Authority

114 N. Hanover St. Carlisle 17013 - 249-1315/697-7703/532-8805 -

Weekday Hours: 8:00 am. to 5:00 pm. - Provides assistance to persons seeking an affordable homebuyer's loan. Free credit & debt counseling is available.

Habitat for Humanity

39 Heisers Lane, Carlisle, pa 17015-9205
Jerry Nichols, Director ed-cvhfh@embarqmail.com
717-258-1830

EDUCATION/EMPLOYMENT

Carlisle Area Employment Skills Center -(was OIC) Training Center 29 S. Hanover St., Carlisle 17013 - 243-6040 ---Programs include:  Adult Basic Education/GED; Adult Literacy; ESL/Civics: Job-Readiness & Employability Skills Training; Support Services for the Homeless, & Life Management Skills Workshops.  A Family Literacy program is run by the Tri-County ---OIC and is located adjacent to the main building.

Margie Weitzel, Director of ESOL Program mweitzel@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
Joe Kloza, Director of Nurses Aid Program jkloza@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
Kate Brazel, Program Manager kbrazel@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
717-243-6040 

EMERGENCY SERVICES/SHELTER & HOUSING

Carlisle C.A.R.E.S.-  45 South West Street, Carlisle, 17013 - (717) 249-1009.  Provides emergency shelter for adults at local churches on a rotating basis for adults and a hotel/motel program for families with children.   Please refer to cares.carlislegrace.org for more information.

Shari Bellish, Executive Director sbellish@carlislecares.org
717-422-1240

American Red Cross of Cumberland County Carlisle PA 17013 
emergency service for disasters, vetern aid, and community education  

Nikki Otto, notto@ccarcpa.org
717-243-5211

Safe Harbour 102 West High Street, Carlisle PA 17013 
emergency and bridge housing for females and families with children 

Scott Shewell, Community Relations sshewell@safeharbour.org
717-249-2200

Salvation Army-  Social Services Center - 24 E. Pomfret St. - Carlisle, PA 17013 
Emergency shelter for men, My Brother's Table daily dinner, clothing and personal care items distributed, thrift shop wtih limited hours 

717-249-1411

FOOD BANKS

Project S.H.A.R.E.- 5 N. Orange st #4 Carlisle- Tuesday Express/*S.H.A.R.E. Express - pre-packed bags/12-2:00 p.m., Wed 3 p.m.-5 p.m., 3rd Thurs.-regular food distribution 9 a.m.-11 a.m./ Sat. morning following 3rd Thurs. 9:00 a.m. -11:00 a.m.  

Jill Kalbach, Volunteer Coordinator jkalbach@projectshare.net
717-249-7773

MEDICAL

Carlisle Area Health and Wellness Foundation provides funding for area health and wellness programs based upon the sale of the former Carlisle Hospital

Doris Ditzler,  dditzler@cahwf.org
Becca Raley, braley@cahwf.org 
717-960-9099

Carlisle Perry County ARC

71 Ashland Ave, Carlisle Pa 17013 
Pam Shenk pshenk@cparc.org 
717-249-2611

Sadler Health Center- 100 N. Hanover St. Carlisle 17013 - Offers dental, medical, mental health, tobacco cessation & health education services Call 218-6670/1-866-SADLER for hours & appointments. 1-866 Sadler7.

Elaine Herstek, Executive Director eherstek@sadlerhealth.org
Gail Oliver, Administrative/HR Assistant goliver@sadlerhealth.org
717-241-6673

CHILD CARE/PARENTING

Family Life Center-155 N. Hanover St., Carlisle - 243-1918 - Call for Weekday hours. Maternity, newborn layettes, infant clothing to 2T available, as well as diapers & related infant supplies.

Lori Peters, Executive Director carlisleaflc@embarqmail.com
717-243-6544  

Carlisle Area Family YMCA - 331 South West Street Carlisle PA 17013 - 717-243-2525 - Promotes personal growth, enhances family values, and provides communtiy service through programs that are available to all.  Many child, youth and family programs are offered.  

Matt Tuckey, Associate Executive Director mtuckey@carlislefamilyymca.org
717-243-2525 

 YWCA - 301 G St. Carlisle 17013 - (717) 243-3818 - Weekdays 8:30 am. to 4:30 pm. - Provides Carlisle area parents w/ on site parenting classes on a sliding fee scale. Financial budgeting classes are available to those who pre-register. Scholarships are available to cover fees for those who cannot pay. Evening classes are available at times. Child care is available. YWCA support groups include: ADD Support Group, Rape Crisis Services, various recreation programs & summer camp programs.

Amy Lowther, Youth Director alowther@ywcacarlisle.org

MENTORING/TUTORING

America Reads 

Debbi Giewont, LeTort Elementary School Teachers
Contact americareads@dickinson.edu 

Big Brother/Sister- Capital Region 1500 N Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17102-Mentoring/tutoring program

Shannon Moyer, area director smoyer@capbigs.org
(717) 236-0199 

Camp Koala (Children's Bereavment Camp) Lisa Streett-Liebetrau director@campkoala.org

Carlisle Area School District hosts many of our children mentoring programs

Jeffery Bell, principal Bellaire ElementarySchool bellj@carlisleschools.org
Kim Truckenmiller, principal Mooreland Elementary School truckenk@carlisleschools.org

Carlisle Area Family YMCA  many health and wellness programs for children, youth, and adults; hosts the DEEP program

Matt Tuckey, associate executive director mtuckey@carlislefamilyymca.org

CHURCHES/FAITH COMMUNITIES

Please see the Nearby Faith Communities for area communities of faith that serve those within the Carlisle area.

OUTDOORS and THE ARTS

Carlisle Area Parks and Recreation Department 415 Franklin Street, Carlisle PA 17013 

Kristen Zeigler, community programs kzeigler@carlislepa.org
717-243-3318 

Cumberland County Historical Society 21 N Pitt St. Carlisle, PA 17013-2945 

Matthew S. March, Assistant Education Curator
717-249-7610 

Carlisle Arts Learning Center (CALC)-19 N Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013-3014

Carrie Breschi, Executive Director cbreschi@comcast.net
717-249-6973 

Carlisle Theatre- 44 W High St, Carlisle, PA 17013-2922 

Crystal Kearns, Board President
717-240-0970

Elm Street Community Development 53 W South Street, Carlisle PA 17013 

717-245-2648

REACH Dance Group 61 North West Street, Carlisle PA 17013

Jason Reed jason@reachcarlisle.org
917-208-1787 

Rotaract --151 West Pomfret Street, Carlisle, PA 17013  

Noontime Rotary Club of Carlisle, Rob Barr rbarz@yahoo.com 
Morning Rotary Club of Carlisle, Shirley King kings@dickinson.edu