At Dickinson we are fortunate to work with many community partners in on-going sustained relationships that benefit the community partner and also student volunteers.  In conjunction with the President's Office, a monthly gathering of college and community leaders gather. 

The community partners below have worked with students in the past and are eager to answer questions, share information, and work with volunteers.   Please contact them directly for more information.

Before choosing where to volunteer, check out "Volunteering. What to know before you go"  that comes with insight from our community partners.  

United Way of Carlisle and Cumberland County

145 S Hanover St Carlisle, PA 17013
Lucy Zander, Executive Director; lucy@uwcarlisle.org
717-243-4805 
 

ARTS

Cumberland County Historical Society 

21 N Pitt St. Carlisle, PA 17013
Matthew S. March, Assistant Education Curator

717-249-7610

Carlisle Arts Learning Center (CALC)

19 N Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013
Carrie Breschi, Executive Director; cbreschi@comcast.net

717-249-6973

Carlisle Theatre

44 W High St, Carlisle, PA 17013
Crystal Kearns, Board President

717-240-0970

REACH Dance Group 

61 North West Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Jason Reed; jason@reachcarlisle.org

917-208-1787

CHILD CARE/PARENTING

Carlisle Area Family Life Center

155 N. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 1701
Maternity, newborn layettes, infant clothing to 2T available, as well as diapers & related infant supplies.
Lori Peters, Executive Director; carlisleaflc@embarqmail.com

717-243-6544

Carlisle Area Family YMCA

331 South West Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Promotes personal growth, enhances family values, and provides community service through programs that are available to all.  Many child, youth and family programs are offered. 
Justin Rose, Senior Program Director; jrose@carlislefamilyymca.org

717-243-2525

YWCA Carlisle

301 G St., Carlisle, PA 17013
YWCA support groups include: ADD Support Group, Rape Crisis Services, various recreation programs & summer camp programs.
Hannah Weisberg, Youth Program Manager; hweisberg@ywcacarlisle.org

717-243-3818

CHURCHES/FAITH COMMUNITIES

Please see the Nearby Faith Communities for area communities of faith that serve those within the Carlisle area.

EDUCATION/EMPLOYMENT

Carlisle Area Employment Skills Center

Training Center 29 S. Hanover St., Carlisle 17013
Programs include:  Adult Basic Education/GED, Adult Literacy, ESL/Civics, Job-Readiness and Employability Skills Training, Support Services for the Homeless and Life Management Skills Workshops.  A Family Literacy program is run by the Tri-County.

Margie Weitzel, Director of ESOL Program; mweitzel@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
Joe Kloza, Director of Nurses Aid Program; jkloza@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
Shelly Brown, Program Manager; sbrown@EmploymentSkillsCenter.org
717-243-6040 
 

EMERGENCY SERVICES/SHELTER & HOUSING

American Red Cross of Central Pennsylvania

1804 N. 6th Street, Harrisburg, PA 17102; holds events in and around Carlisle
Emergency service for disasters, veteran aid, and community education.
Nikki Otto; notto@ccarcpa.org

717-243-5211

Carlisle C.A.R.E.S.

45 South West Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Provides emergency shelter for adults at local churches on a rotating basis for adults and a hotel/motel program for families with children. Please refer to cares.carlislegrace.org for more information.
Shari Bellish, Executive Director; sbellish@carlislecares.org
717-249-1009
 

Safe Harbour 

102 West High Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Emergency and bridge housing for females and families with children
Scott Shewell, Community Relations; sshewell@safeharbour.org

717-249-2200

Salvation Army

24 E. Pomfret St., Carlisle, PA 17013
Emergency shelter for men, My Brother's Table daily dinner, clothing and personal care items distributed, thrift shop with limited hours
Trinette Ream, [position]; email

717-249-1411

FOOD BANKS

Project S.H.A.R.E.

5 N. Orange St. #4, Carlisle, PA 17013
Emergency service for disasters, veteran aid, and community education
Meagan Smith, Volunteer Coordinator; msmith@projectshare.net

717-249-7773

HEALTH/MEDICAL

The Arc of Cumberland and Perry Counties

71 Ashland Ave, Carlisle, PA 17013 
Pam Shenk; pshenk@cparc.org 

717-249-2611

Partnership for Better Health 

274 Wilson Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Provides funding for area health and wellness programs based upon the sale of the former Carlisle Hospital.
Becca Raley, Executive Director; braley@cahwf.org

717-960-9009

Sadler Health Center

100 N. Hanover St. Carlisle, PA 17013
Offers dental, medical, mental health, tobacco cessation & health education services.
Elaine Herstek, Executive Director; eherstek@sadlerhealth.org

717-241-6673

HOUSING/Development

Elm Street Community Development 

53 W South Street, Carlisle, PA 17013

717-245-2648

Cumberland County Housing and Redevelopment Authority

114 N. Hanover St. Carlisle, PA 17013
Weekday Hours: 8:00 am. to 5:00 pm. - Provides assistance to persons seeking an affordable home buyer's loan. Free credit & debt counseling is available.

717-249-1315

Habitat for Humanity

39 Heisers Lane, Carlisle, PA 17015
Jerry Nichols, Director; ed-cvhfh@embarqmail.com
717-258-1830
 

MENTORING/TUTORING

America Reads 

Debbi Giewont, LeTort Elementary School Teachers; americareads@dickinson.edu 
 

Big Brother/Sister of the Capitol Region

1500 N Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17102
Shannon Moyer, Area Director; smoyer@capbigs.org

717-236-0199

Carlisle Area School District

Jeffery Bell, Principal, Bellaire ElementarySchool; bellj@carlisleschools.org
Kim Truckenmiller, Principal, Mooreland Elementary School; truckenk@carlisleschools.org
 

OUTDOORS

Carlisle Area Parks and Recreation Department 

415 Franklin Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Kristen Zeigler, Community Programs; kzeigler@carlislepa.org

717-243-3318

YOUTH

Rotaract

151 West Pomfret Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Noontime Rotary Club of Carlisle, Rob Barr; rbarz@yahoo.com

Morning Rotary Club of Carlisle, Shirley King; kings@dickinson.edu