Fellowship Recipients from the German Department

Many of our students have been awarded prestigious grants and fellowships to work and study in Germany, Austria or Switzerland while studying at Dickinson College.

Traditional medieval quarter - Toulouse.

Schnoorviertel Bremen

 Fulbright is an international exchange program providing scholarships for students and scholars to pursue study, research, and other engaging projects abroad. Several German students have received awards to study in Germany, or to teach English in Germany as an English Teaching Assistant (ETA).

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) seeks to promote the international collaboration between students, scholars and other researchers of higher institutions. Recipients are provided scholarships and grants to pursue further academic endeavors at highly recognized German institutions.

2016                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Rachel Schilling ('16) and Ezra Sassaman '16) were each awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship (ETA) and will both be teaching English in the German state of Hesse next year.

Zhen Luo ('18) was awarded the prestigious DAAD scholarship for Research Internships in Science and Engineering (RISE) to pursue her studies in mathematics at the graduate level in Germany this summer.

Eric Neumeister, Anna Leistikow, Jane Feldmann and Olivia Wilkins all were awarded Fulbright grants to serve as overseas English teaching assistants in Germany (ETA).

Helen Schlimm was awarded the DAAD scholarship to study freshwater resources. Click here to read more about her experiences.

Peter Hechler was awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship (ETA) in Germany. As a "Fulbrighter," he joins an elite cadre of cultural ambassadors, each called by the U.S. Department of State to help foster greater global collaboration and understanding through international work and research. Last year, Dickinson was named one of the State Department's top Fulbright-producing colleges for the fifth time in 10 years. This year, five of Dickinson's Fulbright ETA finalists received the prestigious scholarship.

Santiago Princ was awarded the DAAD scholarship to further his studies in computer science, mathematics and German culture at the University of Bremen.

Katie Mooradian, a psychology and German double major, was also a recipient of a DAAD scholarship will begin her stay with a monthlong language-intensive course at the University of Freiburg.

Another DAAD recipient, Ezra Sassaman, will take a language course at the University of Bamberg in August before going to Bremen in the fall.

Julie King was awarded the Fulbright ETA to teach English to elementary or high school students in Germany.
Allison Murawski, a German minor, was also awarded the Fulbright to conduct micro-ribonucleic acid (miRNA) research at Die Technische Universität München in Munich. Through the program Murawski seeks to develop new methods of fighting cardiovascular disease.
Joshua Eisen received an award from the DAAD to go to Germany.

Faith Andrews, Gwyneth Van Son, and Hillary Rosen all received scholarships through the DAAD to study in Germany.

Matthew Hayden, Katelyn Monfet, and Jessie Strassbaugh were all awarded Fulbright ETA scholarships to teach English in Germany.
Ethan Grandel and Rebecca Payne received awards through the DAAD program to go to Germany.

Braeden Eastman (DAAD), Germany

Caitlin Hahn, Daniel Walter, and Anne Maiale (Fulbright)
Katelyn Monfet (DAAD), Germany

Shean Dolbow and Keely McGeehan, Germany

Alexander Bobsein, Germany

Lauren Hopper, Austria

Deborah Herlocker, Germany

Emma Kuntz, Andrew Sonin, Molly Lewis and Rosemary McGunnigle, Germany.
Patrick Myers received a scholarship to Austria, and was additionally awarded the prestigious "Internationale Parlaments-Praktika" award sponsored by the Bundestag, the German parliament, (Berlin, Germany).

Diana Steele and Robert Doyle, Austria

Amy Getz, Germany

Terry Lusebrink, Germany

Lauren Buckno, Germany

Megan Hanewald, Austria

Amanda Benis, Germany and Samantha Pirog, Austria

Yvonne Buysman, Germany

Eric Usner, Austria

Heather Jackson-Squire, Germany

Jennifer Karvois , Germany

Marcia Grove, Germany

William G. Durden, Switzerland

Frank Gallo, Germany